Interview: Grog from Die So Fluid

Welcome back to Double Cross, our regular feature on bands in the UK heavy music scene with female members. In this edition we speak to Grog from Die So Fluid.

I’m Grog and I’m the vocalist and bass guitarist of Die So Fluid. My bass playing in my band and session work over the years has got me attention from Bass Guitarist Magazine and I’m officially endorsed by G&L Guitars. I am a main writer in DSF, it’s a three piece rock outfit, we live to create and perform our music.

What introduced you to heavy music and what continues to attract you to it?

For me it’s about substance, energy, communicating ideas that are darker, more honest and maybe more confessional. I don’t like all heavy music, and I don’t believe in limiting your taste to a specific style. Music and art just needs to speak to you and that’s what’s magical and other worldly about it. I grew up in a musical family listening to all kinds of music, classical, pop, punk , rock and metal. I have two older brothers who were into Sabbath, Van Halen, Led Zep, Whitesnake, the Stones and there was always music playing in our house. They even had a band and practiced in our dining room with their friends. I was inspired and excited by everything going on around me. I was a very imaginative child and also drawn to the dramatic possibilities music presents, I love now as I did then the way rock n roll elevates you from the drudgery of everyday life and for me gives life meaning.

Have you felt comfortable being a woman in a heavy band in a music scene that is predominantly populated by men?

I feel comfortable because I’m doing what I’m meant to do and it feels natural. What I don’t enjoy is the way the media repeatedly ask what it’s like being a woman in the rock and metal genres and center whole features around it*, it exacerbates the concept that we are somehow crippled because of being female. I want to be judged by the quality of what I do, and be asked relevant and interesting questions about the music. Is that so hard? It’s up to the media to fairly represent good music in general. I’ve been inspired by loads of bands with females in them, Smashing Pumpkins, The Breeders, Sonic Youth, Babes in Toyland, My Bloody Valentine, The Pixies, PJ Harvey, White Zombie, A Perfect Circle, Verbena, Throwing Muses, The Go-Gos, Toyah, Bonnie Tyler, Hole, The Donnas, Diamanda Galas, Arch Enemy, Kate Bush, Melissa Auf der Maur, Otep, Eurythimics, Siouxsie and The Banshees, Joan Jett, Burning Brides, Royal Trux, Daisy Chainsaw, Dead Weather, Janis Joplin, Patti Smith, L7, Hellion, Wolves In The Throne Room, and lots I respect that aren’t necessarily my cup of tea…Lacuna Coil, Evanescence, In This Moment, Halestorm, Paramore, Kittie, Nightwish etc

I recognise that women seem to have to work harder for less reward in the heavy music scene, but the way you make a stand is to keep driving forward, respect yourself and your fans, and basically not give a fuck about negativity and other peoples ‘rules’. . You have to nurture the idea you deserve to achieve your goals to actually do it. You also don’t have to emulate males or pander to male ideals. Being genuine is what resonates with real people. My attitude is inclusive, and I believe in doing what you do to the best of your ability. I can’t speak for ‘womankind’ -we’re all individuals, but all I know is it makes me so extremely happy when I receive messages from fans telling me my songs have inspired them or helped them get through a hard time. No one feels confident 100% of the time, and that kind of ‘real’ feedback makes the fight worth while.

What’s your proudest musical achievement in Die So Fluid?

It will be when the new album is released, I’m so excited about the new material, the wait is killing me. We also have the most epic video we’ve ever made for a track called ‘Black Blizzard’ on hold for the release.

What’s next in the pipeline for Die So Fluid? More shows? New record?

As I mentioned, we have a new album completed and we’re currently looking for the right home for it. We want to release it in Autumn and tour worldwide to support it. It’s called ‘The Opposites Of Light’.

Any suggestions for other female rock/metal fans who are looking to get involved with heavy music?

Don’t do it to pursue some lame idea of celebrity, or if you’re just going to drain our credibility by flashing your tits and think that’s good enough, don’t expect immediate fame and fortune, don’t expect an easy ride, but if you love it and can’t live without it, just do it!!

Are there any other rock/metal bands with female members you can suggest our readers?

The ones listed above, plus a shout out to some friends and supporters we’ve had the fortune to meet on our adventures: The Black Bellies, The Mariana Hollow, Maleficent, Theatre Des Vampires..

*UK Scumscene would like to apologise to Grog and state that we did not intend to make her feel that she was an outsider simply because she’s a woman. The purpose of the interview was to showcase a great band with a great female role model.

Die So Fluid links: Official Website, Facebook, Twitter, MySpace and Instagram.

About Lewis Clark

Long time fan of rock music and video games, webmaster and lead writer at SEGADriven. View all posts by Lewis Clark

Leave a comment