UK Scumscene Now on Hiatus

This might seem like an inevitability at this point, but as of the 5th of November 2018, UK Scumscene will be taking an extended hiatus. We apologise to any bands or PR agencies who have delivered review copies of their releases to us expecting reviews, but we can’t deliver anything at this time.

Updates to UK Scumscene have been obviously intermittent for the last 2 years and there are various factors that have influenced the slowing down of regular reviews. In the last 2 years I’ve started a new job that is emotionally draining, and having to come home day-after-day and try to muster up the energy to write a screen’s worth of thoughts about music is bizarrely challenging when you’re mentally spent. Another factor is the loss of Catbird last year – a great friend, supporter and a huge influence on me and my taste in music. Being reminded of him every time I put fingers to keyboard can be a bit of a barrier to overcome.

I don’t want to call this, “farewell”. UK Scumscene is something I’m immensely proud of and it’s put me in contact with some of the best people I could have hoped to meet. The UK heavy music scene is near and dear to me and it’s stories like being approached by a young Employed to Serve back when they were a 2-person studio project, releasing EPs through Grindcore Karaoke, and watching them evolve into a touring band with a Kerrang Album of the Year award to their name that gives me immense pride and satisfaction that UK heavy music is still important.

However, I need a break and to find that passion that will allow me to give this place the attention it deserves. I want to be able to commit to UK Scumscene and right now it’s just too much of a hurdle to give it my full attention. If you still want to hear me chatting about heavy music then Cast Iron is still going and we recently dropped a new episode over the weekend. UK Scumscene will be back, but as of right now it’s a, “see you later” from me.

Stay posi

Lewis Clark

About Lewis Clark

Long time fan of rock music and video games, webmaster and lead writer at SEGADriven. View all posts by Lewis Clark

Leave a comment